top of page

About (long biography here)

Winner of the Critics' Circle Young Artist Award 2021, Alex Ho (b.1993) is a British-Chinese composer based in London whose music and stageworks have been described as “menacing and poetic" (The Guardian) and a "remarkable experience" (Schmopera). Alex is Artist-in-Residence at Opéra Orchestre National Montpellier and Associate Composer at Oxford Lieder Festival. His first (anti-)opera, Untold, won the George Butterworth Award 2020 for "an outstanding new work", and is shortlisted for the FEDORA Opera Prize 2022. He is the recipient of the PRS Composers' Fund 2022, the RPS Drummond Fund 2023, and is a BBC Music Magazine Rising Star 2022.


Alex has had pieces performed/commissioned by the London Symphony Orchestra, Shanghai Philharmonic Orchestra, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Manchester Camerata, BBC Radio 3, Royal Opera House, Het Concertgebouw, National Opera Studio, Music Theatre Wales, London Sinfonietta, Riot Ensemble, Roderick Williams, VOCES8, and National Youth Choirs of Great Britain. His works have featured in venues across the UK, Austria, France, Italy, Germany, Netherlands, Canada, USA and China, on platforms including SoundState Festival (Southbank Centre, London), Sound Unbound (Barbican Centre, London), Hearing China (Shanghai Symphony Hall, Shanghai),  O. Festival Rotterdam, nonclassical (London), Cheltenham Music Festival, and BBC Late Junction. Alex is co-director of Tangram, a collective of composers and performers of Chinese and western instruments who are newly appointed Associate Artists at LSO St Luke's.​ Alex graduated from Oxford and Cambridge universities and is completing a doctorate at the Royal College of Music with a full AHRC scholarship.

See List of Works.

photo credit: Marcel Lennartz
bottom of page